Subscribe

Enter your email address to get it all to your inbox:


Make Money Online

Is ContactThem.com A Scam?

E-mail
Thursday, 17 April 2008

Well looky here. Right after I recieve the death threat email demanding $10,000 for my life, I finally recieve some good news. ContactThem.com is going to pay me up to $4,800/month to advertise their links here on CashJuke! Just like the death threat, after reading into the first line of the email, I knew it was new spam right from the start. But lets talk about this for a minute.

Here's a real life email in case you want to feel the excitement first hand

What They Claim

The email says that they will pay you up to $4,800 per month to advertise their links on your site. Now obviously that just sounds outrageous. CashJuke is only a little over 2 months old. Frankly, I wouldn't have the balls to make these claims if I were them. But I guess these kinds of tactics work and lure in all the noob webmasters.

The Truth

I decided to click this "referral link" inside the email to check out the site. Upon my arrival, some audio began to play which read the content to me. I couldn't tell you what it says because I wasn't there long enough. But I did click the "more details" link. Aha! Now we know what this is all about. After doing some research, I find out that Stephan Ducharme is the man behind this project. Who is this guy? He's well known around the net, but not in a good way. He's got a bad repuation for not delivering what he promises.

ContactThem is one of his new projects (it's a software) that extracts information about a website so that a member can mass mail website owners and send them their ContactThem affiliate link. This is exactly what happened with me. Someone extracted my sites info and email address and spammed me. Once you're a member, they provide you with a software that pulls websites information so they can invite you (like what happened to me). ContactThem's links will appear on "thousands" of websites and you supposedly make money each and every time their visitors click on a link and becomes a member.

These emails are just invites asking you to join this big spam train that was created by this Stephan guy. Who really knows what he's up to now. So if you recieve one, just delete it and wait on your 50 million dollars from your rich distant deceased uncle Zarscarback from Nigeria.
 

Comments 

  1. #1 ptcaddict
    2008-04-1923:48:58
    Yeap I had the same problem with them. As soon as I entered my email address I got 4 of those rotten emails!
    Thank you for your post I will be recommending your site to many people ;)
  2. #2 CashJuke
    2008-04-3005:59:42
    These little bastards are sending me even more emails ever since I posted this article!
  3. #3 ptcaddict
    2008-04-3017:31:36
    That doesn't surprise me a bit! Since I unsubscribed I haven't seen anymore emails from them " knock on wood "

    Anyone that owns a .ws website be expecting to get spammed like hell from these guys!

Add comment



Security code
Refresh

< Prev   Next >

Poll

How Did You End Up at CashJuke?
 
 
 

Warning: fopen(/home/cashj/public_html/components/com_sef/cache/shCacheContent.php) [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/cashj/public_html/components/com_sef/shCache.php on line 74